Connect Forum Online 2021 ______

Accelerating the future of funds

Our annual global Connect Forum returns on Wednesday 1 and Thursday 2 December 2021. Join us as we host industry leaders from across the world in a series of discussions over two days.

The forum will focus on accelerating the future of funds. The event will take an in-depth look into fund flow trends from across the world, ask market experts for their views and analysis on what these mean now and for the future, and discuss how new asset classes and product innovations are being deployed for the good of the industry and the investor. We will also share the latest updates and future plans for our leading solutions, including DMI (Distributed Market Infrastructure) Fund Services.

09:00 GMT/ 10:00 CET/ 17:00 HKT
The view from the top - Welcome and global update

Ed Lopez

Chief Revenue Officer, Calastone

09:15 GMT/ 10:15 CET/ 17:15 HKT
A look at global fund flows: measuring investor sentiment

Mark Baker, Research Director at 5i Research, examines Calastone’s global fund flow data and assesses how investors across the world have reacted to today’s tumultuous economic climate. He will identify the key trends across all asset classes and consider their impact on the global funds industry.

Mark Baker

Research Director, 5i Research

09:45 GMT/ 10:45 CET/ 17:45 HKT
Panel: In depth analysis - Fund flow trends, investor sentiment and a pandemic

Our panel of market experts take a deep dive into the latest fund flow trends from across the Calastone network.

They will assess the market impact of the pandemic over the past two years and take a close look at global investor sentiment on equity, fixed income, mixed assets and real estate funds. They will also consider the impact of the pandemic on different equity sectors.

Moderator
Edward Glyn

Head of Global Markets, Calastone

Panellists
Mark Baker

Research Director, 5i Research

William Lucken

Global Head of Product, Janus Henderson

Carolina Minio Paluello

Head of Product, Solutions and Quant, Schroders

10:45 GMT/ 11:45 CET/ 18:45 HKT
Global investor trends into 2022

Following Calastone’s global survey of investor behaviour across six developed markets; we provide a detailed view of the prospects, pitfalls and digital changes facing the funds industry, and how these will shape fund firms as they seek to deliver positive digital experiences and investment outcomes in 2022 and beyond.

Josh Wade

Product Manager, Calastone

11:15 GMT/ 12:15 CET
Calastone product update

Summary of Calastone’s changing product landscape during 2021 and why 2022 heralds a seismic shift in the use of digital solutions.

Varun Atre

Head of Product, Calastone

14:00 GMT/ 15:00 CET/ 09:00 EST
Future investment models, collective investments and the opportunity provided by tokenisation

As the industry moves to address a greater spectrum of investors with a diverse set of preferences and needs, how well does the current mutual funds investment model serve investors and investment managers and what practical changes should firms be asking for?

Adam Belding, Calastone CTO, explores the history of mutual funds as the current standard for collective investment, looks at what a model would look like if it were reimagined from scratch with today’s technology, and talks about Calastone’s plans to make this model a reality.

Adam Belding

Chief Technology Officer, Calastone

14:30 GMT/15:30 CET/ 09:30 EST
Panel: Future of fund administration (hosted in partnership with Global Custodian)

Leading firms will explain how fund admin is evolving to meet the challenges faced in today’s dynamic funds market and how they are digitalising, using existing and new technologies, to deliver superior levels of service and investor value.

Informed by a recent survey conducted jointly by Calastone and Global Custodian, this panel discussion will explore issues that are top of mind for fund administrators and their clients and identify the most promising areas of opportunity in both traditional and innovative fund administration services.

Moderator
Richard Schwartz

Special Projects Editor, Global Custodian

Panellists
Adam Belding

Chief Technology Officer, Calastone

Benjamin Bobroff

SVP, Head of Technology Sales Consulting for EMEA and APAC, Northern Trust

Suryanshu Mishra

Global Head of Fund Services, Securities Services, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

15:30 GMT/ 16:30 CET / 10:30 EST
Day 1 summary and close

Gene Peterson

Product Marketing Director, Calastone

09:00 AEDT
Australia update - Positives in a negative world

A look back over the year and an overview of how Calastone and firms across our network are working to redefine the industry. Here we will explore how we are seeing firms digitalise their core business with existing solutions while exploring ways to deliver the business model of tomorrow with new technologies.

Ross Fox

Managing Director, Head of Australia and New Zealand, Calastone

09:15 AEDT
Fund flow insights from the Calastone network: Investor sentiment across Australia and the world

Mark Baker, Research Director at 5i Research, assesses how investors throughout Australia and the world have reacted to the Covid-driven economic climate, where they are placing their cash and what the wider implications are for the managed funds industry.

Mark Baker

Research Director, 5i Research

09:45 AEDT
Panel: Fund flow trends in depth – New ideas and ways to capture the hearts and minds of investors

Our panel of market experts will discuss the latest investment trends raised in the previous session and what they mean for the industry and their businesses. They will assess the market impact of the pandemic over the past two years and take a close look at investor sentiment and they will consider the disconnects are between investor demands and the asset manager’s armoury.

Moderator
Teresa Walker

Director of Client Engagement – Australia and New Zealand, Calastone

Panellists
Sam Hallinan

CEO, Schroders Australia

Nathan Krieger

Co-Head of Client Group, Australia, Dimensional Fund Advisors

Tim McGowen

Managing Director, Informed Investor

10:45 AEDT
Future investment models, collective investments and the opportunity provided by tokenisation

As the industry moves to address a greater spectrum of investors with a diverse set of preferences and needs, how well does the current mutual funds investment model serve investors and investment managers and what practical changes should firms be asking for?

Adam Belding, Calastone CTO, explores the history of mutual funds as the current standard for collective investment, looks at what a model would look like if it were reimagined from scratch with today’s technology, and talks about Calastone’s plans to make this model a reality.

Adam Belding

Chief Technology Officer, Calastone

11:15 AEDT
Panel: Building an efficient and flexible foundation for the entire funds industry

Fund administration is the fund industry’s engine room and impacts hugely on the efficiency of the entire investment value chain. What do asset managers want and need, and does this align to their plans? This panel will discuss how firms are utilising technology to differentiate and engage.

  • What has changed over the last 12 months and what more can we expect?
  • What digital levers should be pulled to improve the business outcomes for the funds industry overall?
  • As new asset classes emerge and data volumes increase, how can fund administrators help the industry to respond and focus on alpha-generating activities?

Moderator
Justin Christopher

Director, Relationship Management – Australia and New Zealand, Calastone

Panellists
Tristan Laszok

Chief Product Officer, Tomorrow Super

David Mackaway

COO, Challenger

12:15 AEDT
Calastone product update

Summary of Calastone’s changing product landscape during 2021 and why 2022 heralds a seismic shift in the use of digital solutions.

Varun Atre

Head of Product, Calastone

15:30 HKT/ 07:30 GMT/ 08:30 CET
Asia update - Moving to a more inclusive, digital investment world?

As we look back over 2021, we explore how firms across the Calastone network are working with us to redefine the future of the Asia market.

Leo Chen

Managing Director, Head of Asia, Calastone

15:45 HKT/ 07:45 GMT/ 08:45 CET
Asia’s digital leadership – Securing a share of Asia’s growing investment flows is vital so where should firms be looking to set themselves up for the future?

Digital asset strategies are seen to be a major new source of growth for fund firms in Asia as investor interest in new assets grows fast.

  • Where is the smart money going in Asia in the near and medium term, how are digital assets being incorporated into growth strategies and where is demand being driven from?
  • As Asia, particularly China, opens up should the focus really be about digital only channels?
    How are fund firms refining their operational models post pandemic to take advantage of new growth opportunities across digital distribution, data, and growing demand digital assets?
  • What technologies will be in everyday use in 2025? What challenges must be overcome for this to happen?

Steffanie Yuen

Managing Director, Value Partners

16:15 HKT/ 08:15 GMT/ 09:15 CET
Panel: Digital asset strategies are the go to for growth by Asia’s funds industry, but where is the smart money going?

Our panel will discuss what is needed to implement digitalisation at the strategic level, what the right operating model looks like and if this is enough to differentiate in an ever crowded market.

  • Are the region’s fund firms adjusting quick enough or have new entrants created enough disruption to steal their customers? Who will own the client of the future?
  • Will digital and crypto assets soon become integrate to fund firms’ growth strategies and what hurdles must be overcome to enable this?
  • How are fund firms using new digital levers to improve their business outcomes while evolving their product mix to meet the needs of their investors?

Moderator
Leo Chen

Managing Director, Head of Asia, Calastone

Panellists
Stephanie Leung

Director and Head of StashAway HK and Group Deputy CIO, StashAway

Emmanuelle Pecenicic

Co-chair of the Blockchain committee of the FinTech Association of Hong Kong

Steffanie Yuen

Managing Director, Value Partners

09:15 GMT/ 10:15 CET/ 17:15 HKT
The next normal society - Investing in ‘deep futures’ by moving from short-termism to long-term thinking

  • Why are resilience, trust, inclusivity and wellbeing now the imperative investment topics?
  • Short-termism has been named one of the greatest threats to humanity. Are business leaders transitioning to long-term thinking fast enough and how can they take informed action to create a more sustainable and inclusive future for all?
  • How can a balance of people, planet, purpose and profit be used to the new normal needs of the industry, its people and investors?

Anne Lise Kjaer

Futurist, Kjaer Consulting

10:00 GMT/ 11:00 CET/ 18:00 HKT
Panel: To remain relevant firms must embrace the new. But what haven't fund firms grasped as digitalisation and new technologies takes hold of the industry?

As firms look to accommodate new asset classes, find ways to become more resilient and cut cost at pace; could culture and workforce sustainability be as much of the answer as big tech and the ability to implement digitalisation at both the strategic rather and tactical levels?

  • How are leaders embracing this wave of digital innovation as a source of competitive differentiation?
  • Are DeFi and ESG really the long term saviours of the funds industry?
  • How are firms thinking differently about their organisation in order to deliver real world business and investor outcomes?

Moderator
Henning Swabey

Managing Director, Head of Continental Europe, Calastone

Panellists
Anne Lise Kjaer

Futurist, Kjaer Global

Rajeev Tummala

Director Markets & Securities Services, HSBC

Nasir Zubairi

CEO, LHoFT

11:00 GMT/ 12:00 CET
Industry leaders panel: What does it take to be future ready? (Industry leaders share their views on what the industry should be doing next)

The industry is approaching an inflection point driven by a number of important factors.  The changing needs and expectations of the investor, fee compression driven by the rise in passive investment and the acceleration of technology are providing opportunities to digitalise and create efficiency but also fuelling a digital arms race as firms seek to differentiate. What does the industry need to do to remain relevant to our changing society? Is today’s operating model still appropriate? Will we see the amazonification of funds?

Moderator
Alan Chalmers

Senior Advisor, Glendevon Capital

Panellists
Peter De Proft

Former Director General, EFAMA

Martin Gilbert

Chairman, Revolut ltd and AssetCo

Julien Hammerson

CEO, Calastone

Massimo Tosato

Chairman, M&G Group Limited

12:00 GMT/ 13:00 CET
Day 2 summary and close

Ed Lopez

Chief Revenue Officer, Calastone